Monday, May 20, 2019

#BookReview – “Canyons of Night” by Jayne Castle


Charlotte Enright, owner of a small antiques shop called Looking Glass Antiques on Rainshadow Island, and Slade Attridge, the community's new chief of police, both have something in common: they possess strong paranormal talents.

They met several years ago when they were in their teens spending the summer on the island. Slade saved Charlotte from a gang of drunken toughs, but then at the end of the summer Slade and Charlotte went their separate ways and started their adult lives.

Now, fifteen years later, they have both been drawn back to Rainshadow Island. They will discover the adult passion they have for each other and start to explore some of the mysteries of the forbidden section of the island known only as the Preserve.


In book three of the Looking Glass Trilogy (an Arcane Society spin-off), Charlotte Enright returns to the sleepy island of Rainshadow to take over her eccentric aunt’s antiques shop.
Injured in the line of duty, police chief and hunter talent Slade Attridge is surprised to find Charlotte back on the island. Friendship and romance blooms fast between them, but he never intended for anything permanent. After all, he’s about to go psi-blind (losing his talent) and believes she won’t want him after she learns the truth. Charlotte, however, has an unusual psychic ability of her own. She reads rainbows in auras and knows more about Slade’s problem than he does. When a man is murdered in her shop and a few smugglers attack two kids, they have to team up to survive but learning to trust is the greatest battle between them.
Charlotte and Slade are stubborn characters, and Slade has his fair share of past trauma. I liked Charlotte for the most part, but I wish she would’ve been a stronger woman and not put up with Slade’s coldness. I couldn’t really relate to Slade. I understand his pain, resentment, and anger, but he should’ve treated Charlotte with more respect since she only wanted to help him.
The Quicksilver Mirror and a revamped Bridewell Curiosity is now in the futuristic world of Harmony, but both played minor roles in this book. I found that disappointing.
The Arcane series is now fully combined with the Harmony series (there aren’t any more Arcane books that’s set on Earth, as far as I know). The Rainshadow books, yet another spin-off, will focus on the members of the Arcane Society and on the Guilds, and only in the futuristic time period.
3 Stars

Disclaimer – I bought this book for my own enjoyment. I am not paid or compensated in any way, shape, or form for this honest review. I will not change or alter this review for any reason unless at my discretion.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.