Saturday, July 25, 2015

Review - 'Jagged Ivory' Box Set by Lashell Collins

Book Series Review

First of all, this is an amazing series. Jagged Ivory is a rock and roll band with band members who think of themselves as brothers and best friends. The series starts with lots of drugs, dirty sex, no morals and five arrogant men who need to be knocked down a few pegs. The women they met and fall in love with are big reasons the men shape up and become better people.
Books 1 and 3—Jagged Hearts and Jagged Addiction, respectively—are the most ‘rock and roll’ of the series. Hearts is all about indulging in vices and Addiction is fighting those vices.
Books 2, 4 and 5—Jagged Dreams, Secrets and Surrender, respectively—are more about the couples finding one another and working through their problems that don’t really involve the band or the band mates. 
The boys of Jagged Ivory and the women they love are intriguing characters that draw you in and make you think about the books for days after you read them. The romance sweeps you off your feet and the men are to die for. Especially Benji and Otis. The men and women find redemption, a new reason to live and love, and I enjoyed reading about their ups and downs, misunderstandings, and the beauty of life. I love how the author introduced children in the series and forced the men to settle down—the sweetness factor was through the roof!—but it took away from the rock and roll edge.
The series takes place over a few months during the European and US legs of the tour (I wish the timeline would’ve been spread out to include the Australian and Asian legs of the tour) and I think all of the books overlapped with each other. Meaning, Book 2 began a few days/weeks or so before Book 1 ended; the same with the rest of them. So the author copied and pasted various scenes from the previous book and included them in the next book. This probably wouldn’t have been a problem for me had I not read most of the books back to back.
All the books are wonderfully formatted but they could use a good edit to fix typos, passive voice, unnecessary exclamation marks, etc. I won’t go into all the technical issues here—I’ve already mentioned them in the individual reviews I wrote for these books—but I think some of the problems I noticed are just my opinion. Other readers may not consider them problems at all.
There is love, hope, fighting personal demons, and a dozen emotions that will make your head spin. The plots are well thought out and developed, as are the characters and the world in which they live. The series is definitely worth checking out and I’m happy I did.

4 Stars

Disclaimer – Thank you, Lashell Collins (author) and Stephanie Biedlingmaier (book promoter), for sending me an ebook copy for an honest review. I am a reader. I am not paid or compensated in any way, shape or form for this review. I will not change or alter this review for any reason.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.